School Advisory Board

The St. Michael School Advisory Board is an organization of 11 members, which acts as an advisory board to the pastor and principal. As outlined by the Archdiocese of Chicago, Office of Catholic Education, its responsibilities are:

  • To develop, formulate, and adopt policies that will help St. Michael School to reach its goals.
  • To act as the public relations arm of the school.
  • To review and advise on the annual school budget; to set tuition rates
  • To represent its constituency through open meetings.
  • To participate in evaluation processes that are required by the Office of Catholic Education.
  • To collaborate with the pastor in hiring the principal.
  • To collaborate in the implementation and monitoring of the school’s three to five-year plan
  • To determine sources of funding.

If you would like to attend a meeting as a visitor or speak at a meeting please contact the school office so that we may provide you with in-person instructions or a meeting link. If you would like to address the SAB directly, please contact Board President, Lisa Herpy 24 hours prior to a scheduled meeting, and will have 5 minutes in which to address the Board. 

The School Advisory Board meets on the third Thursday of each month. (All meetings begin at 7:00pm). Please check the School Calendar for up-tp-date information. 

From the Archdiocese of Chicago

Local school boards are, by their very nature, advisory to the pastor and principal. The pastor and principal participate in all regular, special, and executive session meetings of the board. The pastor and principal participate in all deliberations of the board. The pastor has final approval of all board decisions. The principal is the executive officer of the board, in addition to other duties, and provides in-service and guidance to the board in school matters. The Archdiocesan and Elementary School Policies shall be the policies of the local board. Additional board policies may be developed as necessary to assist the principal in the operation of the school. Local board policies may not be contrary to Archdiocesan policies. (Archdiocese of Chicago, June 2008)


President: Lisa Herpy
Vice President: Mary Reynolds
Secretary: Lisa Raimondi
Treasurer: Jason Riley
LEA: Lisa Herpy

Board Members

Ed Anderson
Brandon Faust
Jennifer Gordon
Brendan Houlihan
Scott Mitchell
Matthew O’Shea
Nicholas Patrick
Lisa Raimondi

Athletic Board Rep: Mark Bohdan
FSA Rep: Melissa Schubrych